London, October 2nd, 2017 – BASCA [British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors] has today presented the 44th Gold Badge Awards at The Savoy hotel in London.

Sponsored by PPL and PRS for Music, the award ceremony was hosted by Guy Fletcher OBE and celebrated the unique contribution of twelve individuals who have supported or inspired the UK songwriting and composing community.

Acknowledging contributions to the worlds of jazz, contemporary classical, film & television music, and songwriting. Everyone who received an award was described as a game changer, who is continuing to make a lasting contribution to the professional lives of the community BASCA represents.

The ceremony opened by acknowledging the contribution of conductor and festival director George Vass. Vass has been described by BBC Radio 3 as the ‘saviour of contemporary classical music’ and he was praised for his desire to enable, to support and to inspire young and old, professional and amateurs, performers and listeners… through his bold vision of fearless programming.

Paulette Long’s outstanding contribution to music draws from her unique ability to support and nurture the next generation whilst always challenging them, and those in senior positions, to push for a more inclusive industry. The music publisher was described as “a passionate and fearless advocate for those who should be better represented in our musical world.”

Described by musician Denys Baptiste as “literally shaping the future of British jazz” Gary Crosby was recognised not only for his own creative output but also his remarkable ability to see the potential in others and his mentorship of consecutive generations of young British jazz musicians.

Next to be recognised was engineer Steve Parr who has been the secret weapon of countless composers in film and television music. A pioneer of surround sound mixing, Parr has conducted seminars across the world and recorded and mixed over five hundred film scores in 5.1.

CEO of the national charity for new music Sound and Music, Susanna Eastburn has held a series of senior leadership positions in the creative industries and was hailed by composer Jo Thomas as having “a mighty courage, sensitive with breath-taking vision and integrity.”

Paying tribute to composer and arranger Michael Gibbs, who celebrated his 80th birthday just days before, Grammy award winning jazz musician Gary Burton said “being a true original is the deepest wish of every creative artist, and Michael has truly attained that rare level of achievement.”

A consistent, eloquent and forceful champion of songwriters’ and artists’ rights, Music Business Worldwide founder Tim Ingham was acknowledged for his unique contribution as one of the best writers on the music business. With over 30,000 email subscribers the platform, created by Ingham, is having a huge influence around the world.

The next award was sponsored by PRS for Music and presented by composers Patrick Doyle and Dario Marianelli. Maggie Rodford leads music publishing and production company Air-Edel and was described as someone who believes passionately in the true value of the creative process. Both acclaimed composers praised her support of not just them, but all the writers she has and continues to represent.

Music publisher Sarah Liversedge, who represents a roster of award winning songwriters including Ed Sheeran collaborators Amy Wadge and Jake Gosling was recognised for her talented A&R skills and exceptional ability to ensure the writers she represents reach their true potential.

Next up was music industry legend and former President of the Music Managers Forum Jon Webster. A man who can rightfully claim to be the architect of, amongst many, two very significant ‘pillars’ of today’s business: the ‘Now…’ series, 100 million sales/streams down the line since its inception in 1983, and the Mercury Prize in 1992.

Martyn Ware is one of his generations’ most culturally significant musicians and host Guy Fletcher paid tribute not only to his contribution to electronic music through his work with early Human League and the long success of Heaven 17, but also his production work, pioneering soundscapes with Vince Clarke and support of numerous charities and advocacy for creators’ rights.

The ceremony closed with the award sponsored by PPL. Presented by their CEO Peter Leathem to multi award winning songwriter and artist Emeli Sandé, for her unique and inspirational contribution to music.

The full list of 2017 Gold Badge recipients is as follows:

Gary Crosby OBE
Susanna Eastburn
Michael Gibbs
Tim Ingham
Sarah Liversedge
Paulette Long OBE
Steve Parr
Maggie Rodford – this award is presented in association with PRS for Music
Emeli Sandé MBE – this award is presented in association with PPL
George Vass
Martyn Ware
Jon Webster

Of this year’s award recipients BASCA Chairman Crispin Hunt, said: “Music is rarely created only by Musicians, just as Musicians rarely create only Music. At the 2017 Gold Badge Awards, BASCA is honoured to recognise these exceptional individuals whose talent, taste, protection and purpose is an inspiration to all in British Music writing and whose unique contribution to British Music deserves to be celebrated.”