The 35th BASCA Gold Badge Awards were sponsored by MCPS and took place on 29th October 2008 at The Park Lane Hotel, Piccadilly, London.  The ceremony was hosted by Guy Fletcher OBE with music by Brian Dee Trio.

Martin Carthy

For more than 40 years Martin Carthy has been one of folk music’s greatest innovators, one of its best loved, most enthusiastic and, at times, most quietly controversial of figures. He was awarded the MBE for services to English Music and won Singer of the Year and Best Traditional Track at the BBC Radio 2 Awards 2005.

This Award is sponsored by the MU.

Ken Dodd

In 2004 he celebrated 50 years as a comedian and over his vast career has clocked up a vast array of accomplishments from Guinness Records for telling jokes, to proudly occupying 10th place in the Top 20 best-selling records of all time. In 1965 ‘Tears’ reached no.1 in the charts having knocked The Beatles off the top spot and stayed there for 6 weeks. In 1982 he was awarded awarded the OBE for services to show business.

Elizabeth Fraser

Elizabeth Fraser is the vocalist and lyricist in Cocteau Twins. Now among the world’s most acclaimed singers, she has appeared as a guest-vocalist on numerous recordings with other artists, has performed for film soundtracks, and was invited by Peter Gabriel to lend her spectacular voice to the UK’s ‘Millennium Dome Project’ in 1999.

Tony Hatch

It was in 1955 as a tea boy in Robert Mellin Music that Tony began a career which has established him as one of today’s leading composers of popular songs and music for television. He has written a vast number of songs including ‘Sugar and Spice’ for The Searcher and ‘Downtown’ for Petula Clark. He also wrote the theme tune to ‘Neighbours’.

Alan Hawkshaw

Alan Hawkshaw has written music for more than 35 television series and a number of film scores, including ‘The Outsider’, ‘The Silent Witness’, the ‘New Statesman’, ‘Grange Hill’ and ‘Channel 4 News’. He has worked as a keyboard player on more than 7000 recording sessions with a variety of artistes including Dusty Springfield, Cliff Richard, Barbra Streisand, Tom Jones and David Bowie, The Shadows and Olivia Newton-John.

David Howells

David Howells has been in the music industry since the 1960’s when he was an A&R executive with CBS Records. In the mid 80’s to the mid 90’s he was co-owner of PWL Records with Pete Waterman and business manager to Stock, Aitken and Waterman More recently he has managed amongst others, songwriter/producer Steve Mac and Nicky Chinn.

Nicholas Kenyon

Sir Nicholas Kenyon was appointed Controller of BBC Radio 3 from 1992-8 and was Director of the BBC Proms from 1996 to 2007. He became Managing Director of the Barbican Centre in October 2007. He is a board member of English National Opera, the Arts and Humanities Research Council, and a Governor of Wellington College.

Beverley Knight

Beverley Knight’s 13 years in the industry speak for themselves. She was awarded the MBE in 2008 for services to music.

This Award is sponsored by PPL.

Phil Manzanera

Phil Manzanera is one of the UK’s best-known musicians and record producers, having shot to prominence in the early ‘70’s as the lead guitarist with the seminal band, Roxy Music. He is widely acknowledged as one of the world’s leading guitarists and is in much demand both as a performer and record producer.

Robin Millar

The original ‘Smooth Operator’ Robin Millar is one of Britain’s most successful record producers with 150 gold, silver and platinum discs and 44 No.1’s to his credit, including Sade’s iconic ‘Diamond Life’ album. He is known as ‘the man behind Sade’, the producer of the first acid jazz record and was dubbed ‘Golden ears’ by Boy George. More recently, Robin has become equally recognised as an academic, a coach and mentor.

Richard Taylor

Richard is a partner and founding member of Michael Simkins LLP and works for corporate clients from music industry associations. He is legal adviser to the International Live Music Conference, the annual London convention for the live music industry, and is a member of the International Association of Entertainment Lawyers.

Photos from 2008 Awards

<< Back to 2000 – 2009

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!