Gold Badge Awards 2010

The 37th BASCA Gold Badge Awards were sponsored by PRS for Music and took place on 20th October 2010 at The Savoy, Strand, London.  The ceremony was hosted by Guy Fletcher OBE with music by Brian Dee Trio.

Howard Blake

Howard Blake is a pianist, conductor and composer. He has composed many concert works and his film scores include ‘The Duellists’, ‘A Month in the Country’ and ‘The Snowman’ which was nominated for an Oscar in 1982.

This Award is sponsored by PPL.

Tom Bradley

Tom Bradley was Deputy Managing Director of EMI Music Publishing for 8 years.  He has been Chairman of the Music Publishers Association and Chairman of the MCPS Board.  He has also held board positions with UK Music and National Discography.

Geoff Foster

Geoff Foster is an orchestral Engineer and Mixer who joined Air Studios in 1987.
His works have been nominated for Oscars, BAFTAs and Golden Globe awards and amongst his many credits are recording major film scores for composers David Arnold, Craig Armstrong, Patrick Doyle and Hans Zimmer.

Lesley Garrett

Lesley Garrett is Britain’s most popular soprano, regularly appearing in both opera and in concert, on television and CD. As a recording artist she has eleven solo records to her credit. She has performed with the Welsh National Opera, Opera North, Glyndebourne Festival Opera and the English National Opera.

John Paul Jones

John Paul Jones became a prolific musical director and arranger in the 60s before forming Led Zeppelin with Jimmy Page in 1968.  He is a multi-instrumentalist and record producer and his debut solo albums include ‘Zooma’ (1999) and ‘The Thunderthief’ (2001).

Julian Joseph

Virtuoso pianist, bandleader, composer, arranger and broadcaster, Julian Joseph has been a leading figure on the international jazz scene for over two decades.
He is a patron of the Jazz Development Trust, Pembroke Music Academy, Band on the Wall and the Firebird Trust.

Tony Moore

Tony Moore created the Kashmir Klub in 1997, took over running The Bedford in Balham in 2003 and launched The Regal Room in Hammersmith in 2006. He has offered exceptional performance opportunities for singer songwriters with debuts from Damien Rice, KT Tunstall and Tom Baxter.

Chris Shurety

Chris Shurety established the East London Late Starters Orchestra (ELLSO) in 1985 to provide a structured and supportive learning environment for adult musicians. Contemporary Musicmaking for Amateurs (CoMA), which he established in 1993 is a UK wide network of ensembles and composers promoting amateur participation in contemporary music.

Heather Small

Heather Small became one of the seminal British voices of the 1990s as part of the band M People. Heather has since released two solo albums and is an ambassador for the children’s charity Barnardos.

This award is sponsored by the MU.

Phil Swern

Best regarded perhaps for building one of the biggest private record collections in the world, Phil Swern is also a radio producer known for BBC Radio 2 programmes such as ‘Pick of the Pops’, ‘Sound of the Sixties’ and the Bob Harris Show. He also writes Ken Bruce’s daily pop quiz, ‘Pop Master’.

Clare Torry

Singer Clare Torry famously performed the wordless vocals on Pink Floyd’s ‘The Great Gig in the Sky’ on the 1973 album ‘The Dark Side of the Moon’. She sang the theme tune for BBC’s ‘Butterflies’ and has worked with the likes of John Carter, Don Black, Culture Club, Serge Gainsbourg and Brian Bennett.

Paul White

Paul White started as technical editor for magazines ‘Home Studio Recording’ and ‘Electronics and Music Maker’, later to become Music Technology.
In 1991, he joined the Sound on Sound team where he edited Audio Media, Recording Musician and finally Sound on Sound where he is now Editor In Chief.

Brian Willey

Brian Willey joined the BBC Engineering Department in 1944. Appointed a Radio Producer in 1960 he retired from the BBC in 1987 after 43 years of service.  He has been Vice-Chairman of the Songwriters’ Guild, Chairman of the Ivor Novello Award Committee and recently celebrated 30 years service with the committee of the PRS Members’ Benevolent Fund.

Photos from 2010 Awards

<< Back to 2010 to present

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!