The 38th BASCA Gold Badge Awards were sponsored by PRS for Music and took place on 19th October 2011 at The Savoy, Strand, London.  The ceremony was hosted by Guy Fletcher OBE with music by Brian Dee Trio.

Joan Armatrading

Joan Armatrading is a multi award winning singer songwrier who released her first album ‘Whatever’s For Us’ in 1972. She has since released a total of 19 albums and been awarded an MBE for services to music.

This Award is sponsored by the Musicians’ Union.

Tony Burrows

Tony Burrows is a British session singer. He has been credited with singing lead on hit singles for more groups than any other recording artist, both on the UK Singles Chart and the US Billboard Hot 100 chart.  He was a member of The Kestrels and performed for Edison Lighthouse, The Pipkins and Brotherhood of Man.

Christina Coker

Christina Coker was appointed the National Foundation for Youth Music’s (Youth Music) first Chief Executive in April 1999, before which she was co-founder and Director of Hackney Music Development Trust, creating and expanding new music-making opportunities for young and old through effective partnership working.

Ray Davies

Ray began his career in London in the 1940’s, working with various big-name orchestras of the day such as Ambrose, Carroll Gibbons, Geraldo and Jack Parnell.
Ray is currently celebrating his 69th year in music. He is also Chairman of the PRS for Music Members Benevolent Fund.

Christopher Gunning

Christopher Gunning composed the music for Agatha Christie’s ‘Poirot’, ‘MiddleMarch’, ‘Porterhouse Blue’ and ‘La Vie En Rose’, all of which won BAFTA’s for Best Music. He has also won three Ivor Novello Awards for ‘Rebecca’, ‘Under Suspicion’ and ‘Firelight’.  He has written seven symphonies, two of which have been recorded by the Royal Philharmonic.

Mick Hucknall

Mick Hucknall founded, sung with and wrote for the immensely successful band Simply Red. Simply Red played over 1100 shows to over 11 million people, notched up over 55 million global sales, over 31 Top 40 UK singles, three BRIT Awards, two Ivor Novello Awards, two US No.1 singles and a MOBO Special Achievement.

This Award is sponsored by PPL.

John Leckie

John Leckie is best known as the Producer of records such The Stone Roses debut album ‘The Stone Roses’ and ‘The Second Coming’, Radiohead’s ‘The Bends’ along with albums by Cast, The Coral and The Verve. He has won a Music Week Award (1995), Q Award (1996) and Brit Award (1997) all for “Best Producer” as well as “Producer of the Year” award at the Music Managers Forum in 2001.

Arlene Phillips

Arlene Phillips formed the popular dance troupe ‘Hot Gossip’ in the early 1970s. She has gone on to work as a choreographer on numerous TV shows, films and music videos.
Her renowned choreography has also been seen in a number of much loved musicals including ‘Flashdance’, ‘Sleeping Beauty’, ‘The Sound of Music’, ‘Grease’, ‘We Will Rock You’, ‘Time’ and ‘Matador’.

Mike Read

A household name in Britain for over 25 years and long-time face of Music TV and Children’s TV with the BBC, Mike has been voted National Broadcaster of the Year ten times and has made history by being the only person to have presented the breakfast show on three national radio stations.

Mike Ross-Trevor

Mike Ross-Trevor began working at Olympic Studios in 1962. He worked at Whitfield Street Studios from the early 1970s, mainly concentrating on orchestral engineering. He has worked on numerous film scores as well as on recordings for Lesley Garrett, Evelyn Glennie and John Williams.

Clare Teal

Jazz singer Clare Teal has released six studio albums. Alongside her music, Clare has a successful career in broadcasting, presenting Clare Teal, Sunday night at 10pm and Big Band Special, Monday night at 11pm for Radio 2.  She won British Jazz Singer of the year in both 2005 and 2007, and BBC Jazz Singer of the Year 2006.

Dennis Waterman

As an actor Dennis Waterman has appeared in numerous television programmes as well as West End shows.  He has also had a career as a performing artist, achieving worldwide recording success, including a No.1 in Australia and New Zealand, and a No. 23 in Britain.

Photos from 2011 Awards

<< Back to 2010 to present

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!