The 39th BASCA Gold Badge Awards were sponsored by PRS for Music and took place on 17th October 2012 at The Savoy, Strand, London.  The ceremony was hosted by Guy Fletcher OBE with music by Brian Dee Trio.

Paul Carrack

Paul Carrack is a solo artist, musician and songwriter.
Across four decades, countless Carrack performances have quietly made their mark on the collective consciousness with Ace, Mike & the Mechanics, Squeeze, Roxy Music and Roger Waters.

Mark Cooper

Mark Cooper is Creative Head of BBC Music Entertainment.
Mark co-conceived ‘Later…with Jools Holland’ and continues to executive produce the series. He began the TV coverage of Glastonbury in 1997 as well as overseeing coverage of Reading and Leeds Festivals, Radio 1 Big Weekend and many live sessions and music documentaries across BBC TV.

Jude Kelly

Jude Kelly CBE is a theatre director and the artistic director of Southbank Centre, Britain’s largest cultural institution. She was awarded the OBE for services to the theatre in 1997.
Jude has represented Britain within UNESCO on cultural matters, is a member of the London Cultural Consortium, sat on the Cultural Olympiad Board and is a member of the Dishaa Advisory Group.

George Martin

Sir George Martin is a legendary record producer, composer and arranger. He became Head of Parlophone in 1955 and in 1962 signed The Beatles to EMI.
The recipient of two Ivor Novello Awards and six Grammy’s he was created Knight Bachelor in 1996 in recognition for his services to the music industry

Nick Mason

Nick Mason is the founding member and drummer of Pink Floyd.
A successful musician and music producer Nick is now Co Chair of the Featured Artists Coalition which campaigns for the protection of UK performers’ and musicians’ rights.

This award is sponsored by PPL

Fran Nevrkla

Fran Nevrkla began his career at Warner Music UK. He has served on the Boards of the BPI Rights Committee and the US Copyright Alliance; he is a Governor of the BRIT School and a Fellow of the Radio Academy.
Fran became Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of PPL and VPL in 2000 and after 11 years stepped aside as CEO in 2011 whilst remaining Chairman.

Mandy Oates

Mandy Oates began her career in 1973 working for Compass Music, the company co-owned by Henry Mancini to represent his copyrights.
In 1975 her husband Terry Oates formed publishing company Eaton Music. Early on the company started specialising in film and TV music and has enjoyed a long relationship with composers such as George Fenton, David Mackay, Denis King, David Julyan and Andy Price.

Nigel Ogden

Nigel Ogden’s raison d’etre is to give organ music the widest possible public appeal.
In 2011 he celebrated 40 years of broadcasting. Since 1980 he has presented BBC Radio 2’s longest running specialist music programme ‘The Organist Entertains’. Nigel also continues to perform popular and light classical organ music to audiences throughout the world.

Caroline Redman Lusher

Caroline Redman Lusher is the director of Rock Choir, which she founded in 2005. Through her creativity and leadership it has developed into Britain’s biggest contemporary choir.

Chris Welch

Music journalist Chris Welch is best known for his work as features writer and critic with Melody Maker and as the author of more than thirty books on rock and pop stars.
Chris joined Melody Maker in 1964, was review editor of Kerrang! during the 1980s and became editor of Metal Hammer in 1989. He continues to write as a freelance for The Independent, Daily Mail and Mojo.

John Williams

John Williams is an award winning classical guitarist.
His musical activities include collaborations with Andre Previn, Cleo Laine and John Dankworth; the groups SKY, John Williams and Friends and Attacca.

This award is sponsored by the Musicians’ Union.

Photos from 2012 Awards

<< Back to 2010 to present

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!