Gold Badge Awards 2014

The 41st BASCA Gold Badge Awards were sponsored by PRS for Music and took place on 14th October 2014 at The Savoy, Strand, London.  The ceremony was hosted by Guy Fletcher OBE with music by Brian Dee Trio.

Peter Cornish

Peter Cornish has spent the last 50 years in the music business and is currently a Director of Fairwood Music (UK) Ltd.  He is a Director of the Music Publishers Association and for many years served on the Board of MCPS, including spells as Deputy Chairman and Chairman.

Anne Dudley

Anne Dudley is an Academy Award winning composer, arranger, musician and producer.
Her film and television compositions include ‘Jeeves and Wooster’ and ‘The Full Monty’. Her iconic arrangements include ABC’s ‘Lexicon of Love’, Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s ‘Two Tribes’, Lloyd Cole’s ‘Rattlesnakes’ and Will Young’s ‘Leave Right Now’.

Gary Farrow

Gary Farrow has worked at One Stop Records, Rocket Records, EMI and Sony Music Entertainment. In 1980 he started his own media management company and has worked with such artists as Elton John, Wham!, George Michael, David Bowie, Paul Young, Blondie, Duran Duran, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Bob Geldof, and Heaven 17.  He was awarded an OBE for services to the music industry in 2011.

Mo Foster

Mo Foster is a session musician, producer, composer and author. As an internationally respected bass player he has played on over 350 albums and toured with many artists including Jeff Beck, Phil Collins, Gerry Rafferty, Gil Evans, Joan Armatrading, and Van Morrison. He has produced albums for Linda Hoyle, Deborah Bonham, and Maggie Bell and composed hundreds of titles for the major production music libraries.

Bob Geldof

Bob Geldof is a musician, songwriter and activist.
As frontman of the Boomtown Rats, he penned their hugely successful hits including ‘I Don’t Like Mondays’ and ‘Rat Trap’. The band reformed in 2013, released a new album and continue to tour. He has continued to work for the disadvantaged since Band Aid and Live Aid and has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize three times and recieved a knighthood from Queen Elizabeth II.

Nicky Graham

Nicky Graham is a songwriter and producer.
As a songwriter he wrote various hits for Bros and PJ & Duncan. He has produced various artists and been a Consultant for Sony Music and the BBC Eurovision. For the past 18 years he has been a Director of the Performing Right Society.

Derek Griffiths

Derek Griffiths has been a regular face on British television for more than three decades, as well as being a well-respected theatre actor and musician.
He presented a series of children’s television programmes from Play Away, Play School, Heads and Tails and Film Fun; composing the music for Bod, Heads and Tails, Look and Read and many of the songs featured on Play School.

John McLeod

John McLeod is a prolific composer, whose music has been commissioned, performed and recorded in many countries by leading orchestras and international soloists. His orchestral work ‘The Sun Dances’ received its London premiere this year at the BBC Proms.
Throughout his career he has contributed to various industry committees and boards, including the Performing Right Society, spnm and BASCA.

Alison Moyet

Alison Moyet is a Brit Award winning and Grammy nominated singer and songwriter. She began her career as one half of Yazoo with Vince Clarke and has since released eight acclaimed solo albums, including ‘the minutes’ in May 2013.

This award is sponsored by PPL

Tim Reynish

Tim Reynish is one of the leading conductors of wind bands and wind ensembles in the world. He was Head of School for Wind and Percussion at the Royal Northern College of Music for 25 years, where he developed the wind orchestra and ensemble to become recognised as one of the best in the world. He has extensively commissioned new works by contemporary classical composers.

Kate Rusby

Kate Rusby is a folk singer and songwriter who was nominated for the Mercury Prize in 1999 for her album Sleepless. She has won four BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, including Best Album for Sleepless, Folk Singer of the Year in 2000 and Best Live Act in 2006. Her latest album Ghost was released in August 2014.

This award is sponsored by the Musicians’ Union

Jo Whiley

Jo Whiley is a radio DJ and television presenter.
She joined BBC Radio 1 in 1993 as co-presenter of ‘The Evening Session’ with Steve Lamacq. Four years later she landed her own daytime show and remained part of Radio 1 until 2011 when it was announced she would move to BBC Radio 2. She has also presented coverage of the Glastonbury Festival on the BBC and several music programmes for Channel 4.

Photos from 2014 Awards

<< Back to 2010 to present

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!